Home  Contact  Español


Arizona-Sonora Regional Economic Competitiveness Forum

Rio Rico, Arizona
May 16, 2014

Speaker Presentations


Arizona-Sonora Regional Economic Competitiveness Forum Executive Summary

Arizona-Sonora Attendee Directory

Panel I: Challenges and Opportunities to Move People and Product Securely and Efficiently Along the Arizona - Sonora Border Region

Moderator: Luis Ramirez
Ramirez Advisors Inter-National

William Brooks
Director of Field Operations, Tucson
U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Lance Jungmeyer
Fresh Produce Association of the Americas


Alfonso Soto Parada
Maquiladora Association of Sonora


Panel II: Promoting Regional Competitiveness

Moderator: Representative T.J. Shope
Arizona House of Representatives

Ricardo Brown
Investment Promoter
Economic Development Council for Sonora


Bruce Wright
Associate Vice President
Tech Parks Arizona
University of Arizona


Manuel Hopkins Ruiz
Director of Economic Development
City of Nogales, Sonora

Lunch Keynote

Ana Luisa Fajer
Director General for North America
Mexico’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs


Panel III: Arizona - Sonora Trade Corridor

Moderator: Diputada Mireya de Lourdes Almada Beltrán
Sonora State Legislature

Marisa Walker
Senior Vice President, Strategic Planning & Infrastructure
Arizona Commerce Authority

Werner G. Cota Lopez
Confederation of Agriculture Associations
State of Sinaloa


David Careaga
General Director
Association of Farmers of Rio Culiacan


Russ Jones
Vice Chair
Border Trade Alliance



Simultaneous Breakout Sessions

I: Ports of Entry

Facilitator: David A. Shirk
Associate Professor, Political Science
Director, Justice in Mexico Project
University of San Diego

II: Promoting Regional Competitiveness

Facilitator: Russ Jones
Vice Chair
Border Trade Alliance

III: Arizona – Sonora Trade Corridor

Facilitator:  Erik Lee
Executive Director
North American Research Partnership