Home  Contact  Español


Nuevo León

The state of Nuevo León is located in the north-eastern section of Mexico. The capital is Monterrey. Nuevo León is surrounded by Mexican states Tamaulipas in the north and east, San Luis Potosí to the south, and Coahuila to the west. Nuevo León is a border state, yet it only touches Texas on a 9 mile stretch. Home to many biomes, Nuevo León has a very diverse climate including cold and temperate mountains, arid climates in areas with close proximity to the Chihuahua desert, and semi-arid climates in Monterrey. The square area of Nuevo León is 24,791.6 square miles, yet it has a population of 4.2 million persons. The highest income per capita in Mexico is a municipality of Nuevo León: San Pedro Garza García. The northern half of the state includes an area called the orange belt which is known for its rice agricultural center. The southern area faces extreme dry weather which limits its productivity.

Due to the short border which Nuevo León and Texas share, there is only one port of entry, which is Colombia, Nuevo León and Laredo, Texas. The town of Colombia was developed in the early nineties with the goal of raising the competiveness of Nuevo Leon to compete with the import and export markets of Coahuila and Tamaulipas. In 1991 the Colombia-Solidarity International Bridge was opened which is the 4th most important border crossing between the United States and Mexico Border. Currently the construction of a Railroad International Bridge, a second International Bridge, and an International Cargo Airport are being considered and organized.

Diputada Ivonne Bustos Paredes

Diputada Mercedes Catalina García Mancillas

Diputada Rosa Isela Castro Flores

Diputado Samuel Villa Velázquez

Diputado Melchor Heredia Vázquez

Diputado Marco Antonio González Valdez

Diputada Celia Alonso Rodriguez

Diputada Delfina Beatriz De Los Santos Elizondo

Diputado Arturo Bonifacio De La Garza Garza