Home  Contact  Español



Under the 1824 Mexican constitution, Coahuila was a Mexican state under the name of Coahuila and Texas. In 1835 the state was split into Coahuila and Texas, one side going to the United States and one remaining a Mexican state. Coahuila is located in the northern part of Mexico with its capital as Saltillo. It has a square area of 58,521.9 square miles and is Mexico’s third largest state. Its population is around 2.3 million persons. Coahuila borders Nuevo León to the east, Zacatecas and San Luis Potosí to the south, and Durango and Chihuahua to the west. Coahuila also shares an international border with Texas of the United States. Within its state, Coahuila has two biosphere reserves, protected areas which support a sustainable development, including Maderas del Carmen y Cuatro Ciénegas, which are composed of deserts, pine-oak forests, springs, lakes, and wetlands. The climate in Coahuila is largely arid or semi-arid. Coahuila is rich in coal as 95% of Mexico’s reserves are here. The economy also focuses on hosting General Motors and Chrysler assembly plants.

Coahuila shares two ports of entry with the United States, both of which are situated in Texas. They are Ciudad Acuña, Coahuila with Del Rio, Texas; and Piedras Negras, Coahuila with Eagle Pass, Texas. The border between Coahuila and Texas is 318 miles long.


Diputada Gabriela Zapopan Garza Galván

Diputada María Esperanza Chapa Garcia

Diputado Emilio Alejandro De Hoyos Montemayor

Diputada Verónica Boreque Martinez Gonzalez

Diputada Blanca Eppen Canales

Diputada Zulmma Verenice Guerrero Cazares

Diputada Rosa Nilda Gonzalez Noriega

Diputado Marcelo De Jesus Torres Cofiño