Home  Contact  Español


Americas 2020

Dallas, Texas
November 11 & 12, 2010

The Americas 2020 Summit was organized by the Council of State Government’s
Border Legislative Conference, the Southern Legislative Conference and the Texas
Department of Transportation

Photo of the participants of the Third Americas 2020 Summit held in Dallas, Texas.





Senador Eliot Shapleigh, Texas
Chair, Economic Development Committee, Border Legislative Conference

Diputado Ramiro Flores Morales, Coahuila
Chair, Border Legislative Conference


Opening Plenary Address

Senator Eliot Shapleigh (click here for ppt)

Amadeo Saenz, Executive Director, Texas Department of Transportation

Speaker Presentations

Panel I: North America Emerging Trade Corridors

Moderator: Senator David Wyatt, Arkansas State Senate

Bruce Lambert (click here for ppt)
Executive Director
Institute for Trade and Transportation Studies

Manuel Cuan (click here for ppt)
Deputy Director for International and Interagency Issues
Mexico’s Ministry of Communications and Transportation

S. Zulfi Sadeque
(click here for ppt)
Consul & Senior Trade Commissioner
Canadian Consulate General in Dallas

Panel II: Enhancing Mobility and Security Across International Borders

Moderator: Diputado Cesar Augusto Marcor Ramirez, Sonora Legislature

Peter Rittmann
(click here for ppt)
Chief Technology Officer
SecureOrigins Inc.

Sean Carlos Cazares
(click here for ppt)
Deputy Director General for North America
Mexico’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Esther Hitzfelder (click here for ppt)
Special Projects Coordinator, Office of International Relations
Texas Department of Transportation

Panel III: Strengthening Economic Competitiveness

Moderator: Representative Karen St. Germain, Lousiana House of Representatives


Duffy Hinkle (click here for ppt)
Vice President, Membership and Marketing
Ports-to-Plains Alliance

David Featherston (click here for ppt)
Director of the Infrastructure and Reliability Division
Public Utility Commission of Texas